Flavoured Soda Breads: Garlic & Pesto and Black & White Pudding

I’m going to keep this post as quick and simple as possible as I’ve a busy week ahead (more of that at the end).

Garlic and Pesto (and Mozzarella) White Soda Bread

Mix 500g Strong White Bread Flour, 1tsp bicarbonate of soda, 1tsp sugar, 1tsp salt in a bowl, rub in 60g of butter or margarine. Add 1 heaped tbls pesto, 1 tbls chopped garlic, 1 ball of mozzarella (completely optional) and 325ml buttermilk, stir until combined, place in a standard bread loaf tin and bake in a pre-heated oven at 200C for 35-45 minutes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The garlic works really well in the soda bread and produced a strong flavoured bread. The pesto does come through in the bread and adds some flavour but is lost a little. I may try a bread in the future that has 2 large/heaped tbls of pesto and no garlic to see how that tastes. The mozzarella didn’t really add anything (but it was in my fridge and needed using up). I do think I’ll try this again and a recipe with just garlic in would work just fine if I’m short on flavours one day.

Just as a note I use garlic from a (homemade) jar of chopped garlic in olive oil so it’s fairly moist and has a strong flavour that got in to the bread well. I’m not sure if the effect will be the same with ‘dry’ chopped garlic.

Black and White Pudding Wholemeal Soda Bread

Mix 500g Strong Wholemeal Bread Flour, 1tsp bicarbonate of soda, 1tsp sugar, 1tsp salt in a bowl, rub in 60g of butter or margarine. Separate mix in two and stir in 130g black pudding in to one half and 130g white in to the other. I used a Clonakilty twin pack for this recipe, you could easily make it using all black pudding but I had the twin pack and wanted to try both out. Add 175ml buttermilk to each half batch, stir until combined, place each half in one end of a standard loaf tin and bake in a pre-heated oven at 200C for 35-45 minutes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I’ve mentioned on Twitter my parents happen to be in town this week and staying at my Aunt’s house so when I met them on Monday night I handed over most of the ‘Pudding’ loaf and some of the Garlic loaf. My parents like to fry soda bread for breakfast and had the Pudding bread with a fried egg in the morning which sounds lovely (I’ve still two slices in my freezer for the weekend!).

Generally we all agreed the Black pudding loaf if very nice, the flavour comes through the soda bread very well and it’s definitely something I’ll be making again, probably very soon. The White pudding wasn’t as nice and unless I find a white pudding with a particularly strong flavour I’m not sure I’ll be trying it again.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So that was my 2nd and 3rd attempt at some flavoured soda bread and I think I’ve started to learn what is and isn’t working. Using the white bread flour allows more of the flavours to come through; I prefer brown/wholemeal soda bread but it has a stronger taste, I may try most recipes in future with white first of all and move on to wholemeal if the recipe is working well. Cheese hasn’t really had an impact on any of the breads so far, I may need to try a blue cheese or brie but I’m not a big fan of either of them so I can’t say I’ll be in a big rush.

Tonight (Wednesday) and tomorrow I’m on a chocolate making course at the Baking Academy of Ireland and on Saturday I’m hoping to visit the Honest2Goodness Market in Glasnevin so will hopefully be blogging about both of them (and eating lots of chocolate and market goodies). I’m really looking forward to both of these foodie adventures and looking forward to sharing how I got on at them here :-).

4 thoughts on “Flavoured Soda Breads: Garlic & Pesto and Black & White Pudding

Leave a Reply

