Graham Crackers, Smores Brownies and Camping

A few weeks ago during a Twitter chat someone mentions Smores Brownies to me. I had a camping coming up and as Smores are so intertwined with campfires (in America at least) I decided they’d be ideal to bake and bring along. There aren’t really any rules to making this one, for those of you not familiar a Smore is a Graham cracker (Gram for short) that is used to sandwich freshly toasted marshmallows and chocolate together. The marshmallow melts the chocolate and you get a gooey centre to the cracker sandwich.

(Not my photo!)

smores

Graham crackers are made using Graham Flour which isn’t available in Ireland as far as I know. I read up on it and it’s basically a hearty and healthy flour and the finished crackers maintain that quality. I followed a recipe from here: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/graham-crackers-recipe/index.html but swapped out some ingredients for things which were easier to get hold of. I swapped Graham Flour for Wholemeal Flour and swapped Molasses for half Black Treacle and half Golden Syrup. (I also doubled the 1/8 of a teaspoon of cinnamon cause I live on the wild side!).

My finished crackers were fairly coarse and didn’t look like the commercial product as I think Graham Flour is smoother than wholemeal but I was fairly happy with them. Knowing I was going to be breaking them up in to my brownies I didn’t bother with any presentation:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I followed the normal brownie recipe I use and placed half the mix in the bottom of my tray before adding a layer of broken Graham Crackers and topping with the second half of the brownie mix. There is a real mix of styles of Smores Brownies available is you do a Google search – some bake Graham crackers into the base of the brownie, some have the crackers top and bottom and some have them broken up throughout the brownie mix.

I baked the brownies for an hour at 150 degrees C. Once they were finished I put half pieces of marshmallow on top before they cooled and popped them back in the oven. I left them to bake for a couple of minutes following a tip I’d seen online but I think if I was making them again I may grill the top instead as the marshmallows rapidly lost their structure (but thankfully not their gooey and sticky deliciousness)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was pleased enough with the finished result. The marshmallow topping is sticky and a bit difficult to cope with but the Graham cracker layer is interesting and adds a nice texture to the centre of the brownie.

100_2631

So I was all set and ready to go camping. I jumped on a bus after work on Friday night and arrived in Slane just as it was getting dark. Everyone else was there before me and my tent had been put up for me already. My cousin is in to his cooking and home brewing so he’d been slow cooking a brisket of beef for 5 hours and had brought along a tub of German-style wheat beer. We ate, drank and were merry until the early hours before finally giving up and trying to get some sleep in our freezing cold tents. It was -2 that night but well worth the trip and a good fire keeps the worst of the chills away.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

